ESC & SGK

The SCOT is an official working group of the Swiss Society of Cardiology. At the same time, we are in exchange with the “ESC Committee for Young Cardiovascular Professionals”, which have a comparable relationship to the ESC as we have to the SGK. In the following we list important working groups of these societies.

European Society of Cardiology

ESC – as the main European body in cardiology, the ESC offers a variety of resources that may be valuable to you. Some is free of charge, some is restricted to ESC Professional Members. Membership for cardiologists in training costs only 40 euros, and offers a variety of benefits, including the online textbook “ESC CardioMed”, which covers the complete cardiology and includes the current guidelines; access to ESC 365, an online platform with slides and videos on the congress, which is available all year round, 50% discount for the ESC Congress. Click here to join. Note that you can also complete combined memberships: ESC + a working group. If you are particularly interested in a subspecialty, this can be very interesting. You can find more information here

ESC Young Community – the European counterpart to ESC. Your community to build a global network. EHRA – The European Hearrt Rhythm Association organizes besides its own congress regular podcasts, the EHRA Cardio Talk and Webinars. With a membership (+35 euros as a combination to ESC membership) you will get access to all webinars (about 50% are available for all, 50% only for members), the possibility to apply for a grant, access to ESC 365 a.o..

EAPCI
The European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions offers a unique network for those who want to get involved with PCIs. Free membership provides access to webinars and an EAPCI certificate, among other benefits. More information can be found here.

ACVC
The Association for Acute CardioVascular Care offers ACVC Talks, short videos on topics such as ECG, Echo Challenge, biomarkers, and research. Live videos are free, on-demand videos are restricted to members. Curious but your favorite subspecialty is not listed yet? Here you can find all subspecialty groups of the ESC.

Swiss Society of Cardiology

The SGK is a professional association and scientific society for cardiologists in Switzerland. The purpose is to foster the relationship between the members of the society, to promote science as well as education, training and continuing education in the field of cardiology, to organize scientific meeting Echo Course Lucerne [https://echo-kurs-luzern .ch/wp /] and to promote the next generation of qualified cardiologists or scientists.

As a SCOT member, you do not need to become a member of the SGK until you have completed your training, but it is highly recommended to do so in order to benefit from the network and the events, to have a say within the society and thus to be able to help shape the cardiological landscape in Switzerland. We would also like to encourage you at this point to attend the General Assembly (always at the Annual Meeting).

The SGK has 12 working groups, which represent the interests of different groups and can offer a variety of different support possibilities. These include the Working Group for Cardiologists in Practice, the Interest Group Women in Cardiology or the Working Group for Heart Failure.

A list of all working groups can be found here

ESC & SGK

Die SCOT ist als offizielle Arbeitsgruppe eingegliedert in die Schweizer Gesellschaft für Kardiologie. Gleichzeitig sind wir in Austausch mit dem «ESC Committee for Young Cardiovascular Professionals», welche eine vergleichbare Beziehung zur ESC haben wie wir zur SGK. Im Folgenden listen wir wichtige Arbeitsgruppen dieser Gesellschaften auf.

European Society of Cardiology

ESC – als wichtigstes europäisches Organ in der Kardiologie bietet die ESC eine Vielzahl an Ressourcen an, die für euch wertvoll sein können. Einiges ist gratis, anderes ist ESC Professional Members vorenthalten. Eine Mitgliedschaft für Kardiologen in Ausbildung kostet nur 40 Euro, und bietet eine Vielzahl an Vorteilen, darunter das Online Lehrbuch «ESC CardioMed», welches die komplette Kardiologie abbildet und die aktuellen Guidelines miteinbindet; Zugang zu ESC 365, eine Online Plattform mit Slides und Videos zum Kongress, welche das ganze Jahr abrufbar ist, 50% Rabatt für den ESC Kongress. Hier geht’s zur Mitgliedschaft. Beachtet, dass ihr auch kombinierte Mitgliedschaften abschliessend könnt: ESC + eine Arbeitsgruppe. Falls ihr euch für eine Subspezialität besonders interessiert, kann das sehr interessant sein. Mehr dazu findet ihr hier

ESC Young Community – das europäische Pendant zur ESC. Eure Community um ein globales Netzwerk aufzubauen. EHRA – Die European Hearrt Rhythm Association organisiert neben ihrem eigenen Kongress regelmässige Podcasts, den EHRA Cardio Talk und Webinars. Mit einer Mitgliedschaft (+35 Euro als Kombination zur ESC Mitgliedschaft) erhaltet ihr Zugang zu allen Webinars (ca. 50% sind für alle erhältlich, 50% nur für Mitglieder), die Möglichkeit euch für einen Grant zu bewerben, Zugang zu ESC 365 u.a..

EAPCI
Die European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions bietet ein einzigartiges Netzwerk für all diejenigen, die sich mit PCIs beschäftigen wollen. Die Gratismitgliedschaft bietet u.a. Zugang zu Webinars und einer EAPCI Zertifikat. Mehr informationen findet ihr hier.

ACVC
Die Association for Acute CardioVascular Care bietet mit den ACVC Talks kurze Videos zu Themen wie EKG, Echo Challenge, Biomarker, und Forschung. Live sind die Videos jeweils gratis, on-demand sind sie Mitgliedern vorenthalten Neugierig aber eure lieblings Subspezialität ist noch nicht aufgeführt? Hier findet ihr alle Subspezialitäten-Gruppen der ESC.

Schweizer Gesellschaft für Kardiologie

Die SGK ist ein Berufsverband und wissenschaftlicher Verein für Kardiologen in der Schweiz. Der Zweck ist die Pflege der Beziehung zwischen den Mitgliedern der Gesellschaft, Förderung der Wissenschaft sowie der Aus-, Weiter- und Fortbildung im Bereich der Kardiologie, Organisation wissenschaftlicher Tagung (Echo Kurs Luzern [https://echo-kurs-luzern.ch/wp/] und Jahrestagung) und Förderung des Nachwuchses an qualifizierten Kardiologen bzw. Wissenschaftler.

Eine SGK Mitgliedschaft ist für euch als SCOT Mitglieder erst nach Abschluss eurer Weiterbildung notwendig, dann aber sehr zu empfehlen, um vom Netzwerk und den Veranstaltungen profitieren zu können, ein Mitspracherecht innerhalb der Gesellschaft zu haben und so die kardiologische Landschaft in der Schweiz mitgestalten zu können. Wir möchten euch an dieser Stelle auch dazu ermutern, die Generalversammlung (jeweils an der Jahrestagung) zu besuchen.

Die SGK hat 12 Arbeitsgruppen, welche Interessen unterschiedlicher Gruppierungen repräsentieren und eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Unterstützungensmöglichkeiten bieten können. Darunter die Arbeitsgruppe für Kardiologen in der Praxis, die Interessensgemeinschaft Women in Cardiology oder die Arbeitsgruppe für Herzinsuffizienz.

Eine Auflistung von allen Arbeitsgruppen findet ihr hier